BundesligaFootballInternationalSerie ATop 15

15 Greatest Central Attacking Midfielders Of All Time

8) Ruud Gullit

Embed from Getty Images

Ruud Gullit was the backbone behind AC Milan’s dominant side which ruled the world of football in the 1980s and 1990s. He was undoubtedly one of the greatest attacking midfielders of his era and was known for his genius as a player. He also has trophies to show for his performances as he won the European Championship with the Netherlands. He also has won various trophies with AC Milan including the Champions League. Ruud Gullit scored 171 goals throughout his career.

7) Rivaldo

Embed from Getty Images

Another Brazilian to make it to the list is none other than Rivaldo. He is an obvious name on this list as he is touted as one of the greatest midfielders of all time. He was not only a legendary attacking midfielder, but also he could kill the opposition whenever he played as a second striker. Rivaldo’s best years of his career came with FC Barcelona and his huge impact helped Barcelona get out of their rivals’ shadow in the early 2000s. He won the World Cup in 2002 and has also won the Ballon d’Or once. Throughout his illustrious career, Rivaldo scored 230 goals in 521 matches.

6) Bobby Charlton

Embed from Getty Images

Bobby Charlton was undoubtedly the best player for England in the 1960s, their golden generation. Under the leadership of Bobby Charlton, England won the World Cup in 1966. With 49 goals, he also held the record for most goals scored for England for a long time. Even with Manchester United, he was a beast, as they won the European Cup in 1968. Known for his exceptional dribbling skills, Bobby Charlton also won the Ballon d’Or in 1966.

5) Ronaldinho

Embed from Getty Images

Ronaldinho’s inclusion comes as no surprise as he is one of the best-attacking midfielders of all time. He played the game with such enthusiasm that the fans gave him the nickname “The Poet of Football”. He was so good that even Real Madrid fans applauded his genius when he ripped Real Madrid’s defense apart in a 3-0 win at Santiago Bernabeu in 2004. Ronaldinho’s career is full of silverware, both individual and team. He won the UEFA Champions League and La Liga with FC Barcelona whereas, with Brazil, he won the 2002 World Cup. He also won a Ballon d’Or in 2005.

4) Michael Platini

Embed from Getty Images

Michael Platini is not only one of the greatest midfielders, but also he is one of the greatest players of all time. He is one of the only few players to win the Ballon d’Or three times. Winning it once is an accomplishment in itself, and Michael Platini won it thrice. To add icing to the cake, he won it three years in a row to assert his dominance in the football world. He played a pivotal role in France’s 1984 Euro win. He played most of his career for Juventus, scoring 312 goals in 580 games.

Pages ( 2 of 3 ): « Previous1 2 3Next »

Nisarg Desai

Freelance Football Writer & Arsenal Fan, Infatuated to Obscure Premier League knowledge.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.