Ranked : Most Successful English Football Regions

The first English league champions were crowned way back at the end of the 1888/89 season, when the Football League was dominated by clubs from the North West and East and West Midlands.

Since then, 24 clubs have claimed at least one title, but which regions have been the most successful? In this article, we have ranked all the nine English regions according to the League titles that the clubs from their region have won since 1888.

English regions are divided into the following: London, South East, South West, East of England, West Midlands, East Midlands, North West, Yorkshire and the Humber, North East. Let us have a look at most successful English football regions.

9. South West

Embed from Getty Images

It has the largest area of all regions and reaches from Gloucestershire and Wiltshire to Cornwall and the Isles of Scilly. This includes the area often known as the West Country, and much of Wessex.

The most famous football club in this region are Bournemouth, Bristol Rovers, etc. Unfortunately, no football club from this region have ever has been crowned champions of the English top division.

8. East Anglia

Embed from Getty Images

East Anglia is a region of eastern England. The kingdom consisted of Norfolk and Suffolk. The biggest clubs from this region are Norwich City and Ipswich Town.

One club from the East of England has been crowned champions on one occasion โ€“ Ipswich Town are the only club from the East of England to win the league, doing so in 1962, in their first season in the top flight after gaining promotion from the second tier.

7. South East

Embed from Getty Images

South East includes Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, East Sussex, Hampshire, Isle of Wight, Kent, Oxfordshire, Surrey and West Sussex. The biggest football clubs from this region are Reading, Southampton, Brighton & Hove Albion, Portsmouth etc

One club from the South East has claimed two league titles โ€“ Portsmouth are the only club from the South East region to win the league, doing so twice (in 1949 and 1950).

6. East Midlands

Embed from Getty Images

The counties of Derbyshire, Staffordshire, Leicestershire, Rutland, Northamptonshire, Nottinghamshire and most of Lincolnshire belong to this region, the eastern half of Midlands. The biggest football clubs from this region are Nottingham Forest, Leicester City, Derby County, etc

East Midlands clubs have claimed four league titles โ€“ Three clubs from the East Midlands have been crowned champions, led by Derby County (2), followed by Nottingham Forest (1) and Leicester City (1). This region is one of the most successful English football regions.

Leicester City is the latest from the region to win the League title. They won the Premier League in 2015-16, defying all the odds in one of the most fairytale seasons for them.

Pages ( 1 of 3 ): 1 23Next ยป


A sports addict! @subhamchaurasia

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.