Top Division Clubs Ranked According To Their First Ever League Title

8. Burnley (1920-21)

Embed from Getty Images

Burnley have won the top-division title twice in their history, the first of which came in 1921. After losing their first three games in that season, Burnley went on a 30-match unbeaten league run from 4 September 1920 until 26 March 1921 and won the Football League First Division.

Burnley ended the 1920–21 season on 59 points, having won 23 games, drawn 13, and lost 6. Burnley’s unbeaten run stood as a Football League record for over 80 years, until it was bettered by Arsenal in the 2003–04 season.

7. West Brom (1919-20)

West Brom have won the top-flight only once in 1919-20. They finished the season with 60 points, 9 more than runners-up Burnley. Baggies’ free-scoring attacking play saw them comfortably win the Championship, scoring 104 goals in the process. Fred Morris was the league’s top goalscorer, finding the net 37 times.

6. Manchester United (1907-08)

Embed from Getty Images

Manchester United have won 20 league titles, an English club record. The first of those titles came in the 1907-08 season under manager Ernest Mangnall. It was possible because Ernest Mangnall managed to sign star players Herbert Burgess, Alec Turnbull, and Jimmy Bannister after a scandal-hit Manchester City and forced them to sell off most of their team.

Manchester United were ruthless that season, scoring 81 goals and finished the season with 52 points,11 more than second-placed Aston Villa.

5. Newcastle United (1904-05)

Embed from Getty Images

Newcastle United won the League on three occasions during the 1900s; 1904–05, 1906–07, and 1908–09. In 1904–05, they nearly did the double, losing to Aston Villa in the 1905 FA Cup Final.

The 1904-05 season was a close one, Newcastle finished the season with 43 points, just 1 more than runners-up Everton. However, Newcastle deserved to win the title. They were dominant that season, not only they scored the most goals(72) but also conceded the least(33 goals) in that campaign.

4. Liverpool (1900-01)

Just eight years after entering the Football League, Liverpool Football Club rose to the pinnacle of the English game with a title triumph in 1901 that set the tone for future generations at Anfield.

The seeds of this success were sown in 1896 when the legendary Tom Watson was recruited to take charge of team affairs. One of his first major signings was the inspirational Alex Raisbeck two years later and it was around him that Liverpool’s first team of champions was constructed.

Pages ( 2 of 3 ): « Previous1 2 3Next »


A sports addict! @subhamchaurasia

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.