EPLFootballTop 10

10 Greatest West Ham Strikers Ever

West Ham have been blessed with some great strikers over the years. These players have contributed greatly to the cause of the team. This, in this article, let us have a look at some of the greatest West Ham strikers ever.

Considering the number & frequency of goals, impact on the team, success, and longevity, here are the ten greatest West Ham strikers ever.

10. Michael Antonio

Embed from Getty Images

When he signed for the Hammers from Nottingham Forest in a £7million deal in 2016, he was clearly defined as a winger. Since then, he has been deployed in a number of positions including right back, right midfielder and as a winger before eventually establishing himself as the club’s main striker.

He is West Ham’s all-time top scorer in the Premier League. Antonio was also voted Hammer of the Year for his performance during 2016-17.

9. David Cross

Embed from Getty Images

David Cross signed for the club in 1977 from West Brom, for a club-record fee of £180,000. He went on to score 97 goals for the club in 227 matches. Cross was asked to play as the lone striker during the 1980 FA Cup Final win against Arsenal. He also won the Golden Boot in the 1980-1981 season.

8. Trevor Morley

Embed from Getty Images

Having joined the club from Manchester City, Trevor Morley played for six seasons between 1989 and 1995. Morley was West Ham’s top scorer, with 17 goals from 48 appearances for the 1990–91 season as they were promoted to the First Division. Overall, Morley scored 70 goals in 215 league and cup appearances for West Ham. He was voted Hammer of the Year in 1994.

7. Carlos Tevez

Embed from Getty Images

Tevez is known more for his love and respect for West Ham United than for his scoring record. Without Tevez in the 06-07 season, West Ham would have been relegated to Championship. He single-handedly saved West Ham from relegation, netting seven goals in the latter stages of the season, including the decisive finish on the final day of the campaign against Manchester United.

Add to that to his Hammer of the Year award, and Tevez’s place on this list is fully justified. He is one of the greatest West Ham strikers ever.

Pages ( 1 of 3 ): 1 23Next »


A sports addict! @subhamchaurasia

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.