Greatest Comebacks In Premier League’s Title Chase

Premier League is arguably the most competitive league in the world.Over the years,we have seen many thrilling finishes to a season.Today we will have a look at some of the greatest comebacks in the Premier League’s title chase.

Here are our top 5 chase in the Premier League’s history!

[nextpage title=”5″ ]

5.Manchester City (2013-14)

Embed from Getty Images

Liverpool came within agonising touching distance of their first Premier League title since 1990, as they went on an 11-game unbeaten run to front the title race, ahead of rivals Chelsea and Manchester City.

Liverpool had looked on course to win the title, but a devastating slip from Reds legend Steven Gerrard, against Chelsea, gifted striker Demba Ba the opening goal in a 2-0 Blues victory.This game was followed by a draw against Crystal Palace,and this was a big blow to Liverpool’s title hopes.

The title thrillingly came down to the final weekend of the season,with Manchester City,Liverpool and Chelsea,all in the race.Manchester City needed a win to secure the league,while Liverpool where hoping that West Ham could do them a favour by beating City.But Manchester City were very comfortable in their final game of the season,unlike two seasons before,and won the game easily.Liverpool came from behind to win their last game and finished 2nd.

After their defeat at Anfield, the Citizens went on an six-game unbeaten run, ending with a 2-0 victory over West Ham United to secure the trophy at the death of the season.

Checkout:Top 20 Premier League Games Ever


[nextpage title=”4″ ]

4.Manchester United(2002-03)

Embed from Getty Images

The seemingly unbeatable Arsenal held the lead at the top of the table for a good portion of the season. After the first six games of the campaign, the Gunners led the table whilst challengers Manchester United were ninth, already six-points behind.

Liverpool sat top of the pile after 11 games while after 14 games the Gunners were a whole nine points to the good, remaining ahead by that margin at the turn of the year.They remained top of the league up until February, where they struck fear into the hearts of all challengers when they defeated Manchester City 5-1.

The pressure got to the Gunners,their first loss of 2003 came against Blackburn Rovers, they were then held to a draw at Aston Villa, as United strung together an 18-match unbeaten run.

Arsenal threw away a priceless lead against Bolton Wanderers.Sir Alex Ferguson’s side beat Charlton 4-1, piling the pressure on Arsenal which meant they had to beat relegation-tipped Leeds to keep their title hopes alive.

But Arsenal surrendered the title with a 3–2 home defeat to Leeds United, in their antepenultimate game of the season.Manchester United ended the campaign as champions for the eighth time in eleven years.


[nextpage title=”3″ ]


Embed from Getty Images

Arsenal were very inconsistent in the first half of the season.By December 1997 they sat 13 points behind leaders Manchester United after previously being in contention for first place and defeating United in November.

But boss Arsene Wenger masterminded a brilliant undefeated sequence of 15 wins and three draws in 18 games as Arsenal went on a storming run during the final three months of the season to take advantage of having three games in hand over leaders Manchester United and clinch the Premiership title after overhauling United’s 13-point lead.

Two weeks after being crowned champions, Arsenal went to Wembley and beat Newcastle United 2–0 to clinch the FA Cup. In doing so, they became the only team to match Manchester United’s record of two “doubles”.


[nextpage title=”2″ ]

2.Manchester United(1995-96)

Embed from Getty Images

Manchester United and Newcastle United emerged as the primary title contenders for the 1995–96 season. The two sides played on 27 December 1995, with Newcastle 10 points ahead in the league. A 2–0 home win for Manchester United cut the gap to seven points, and two days later they beat Queens Park Rangers 2–1 to reduce the gap to just four points. But Manchester United then lost 4–1 at Tottenham on New Year’s Day and drew 0–0 with Aston Villa, allowing Newcastle to establish a 12-point lead in January 1996.

From February, the Toon slumped over a six-match period, taking only four points, whereas United took a massive 16 points to close the gap considerably.And the nerves finally got to the Magpies when they succumbed to a 1-0 defeat against United in March, thanks to a goal from legend Eric Cantona.

Sir Alex Ferguson’s side won almost every game in the second half of the season, whereas Keegan’s Newcastle lost a few key games.Manchester United managed to close the gap in a fantastic comeback and were crowned champions.


[nextpage title=”1″ ]

1.Manchester City(2011-12)

Embed from Getty Images

The most dramatic, incredible, unbelievable season.Not only it went to the final day of the season but it wasn’t until deep into injury time,the winner was decided.

Manchester City’s local rivals Manchester United were the early pace-setters, leading the table until October when they drew at Liverpool allowing Manchester City to overtake them. The following week, City increased their lead to five points with a shock 6–1 away victory at Old Trafford, which they maintained until December, when they dropped points and their lead narrowed, but City remained in front until March, when a defeat at Swansea City saw them drop behind United. City’s bad form continued for the next month while United went on a winning run, so that with six matches remaining United were eight points ahead of City and the title seemingly decided.

However, United then faltered with a defeat and a draw in their next two games, while City won all three to narrow the gap to three points. City then beat United 1–0 at the City of Manchester Stadium to move back ahead of United on goal difference.Both sides won their penultimate matches to maintain the situation.

Going into the final matches, which were played simultaneously, City were top of the league, ahead of Manchester United on goal difference. However, a Wayne Rooney goal away to Sunderland gave United the advantage. A 39th-minute goal from Pablo Zabaleta, his first of the season, put City back on top at half time.

In a dramatic second half Djibril Cissé equalised for Queens Park Rangers in the 48th minute. Shortly after, Joey Barton of QPR was sent off for elbowing Carlos Tevez. Despite the numerical advantage, City went behind after Jamie Mackie gave QPR the lead in the 66th minute. As time ticked down in both matches, it appeared that Manchester United would win the title with their victory over Sunderland.But an equalizer from Edin Dzeko in the 92nd minute gave City fans hope.

Then, with a moment of football history that will be shown time and again, was produced. Sergio Aguero slotted home with literally the last kick of the season, to secure the title for Mancini’s team, and capped a truly wonderful, topsy-turvy season.



A sports addict! @subhamchaurasia

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.