6 Greatest Watford Managers Ever

Watford is a club with a very rich history stretching all the way back to 1898 when it was founded. Many managers have managed the club over its history. In this article, let us have a look at some of the greatest Watford managers ever.

Based on the success, playing style, legacy, and impact on the club, here are the greatest Watford managers ever.

6. Bill Findlay

Bill Findlay was also a player when he became the manager of Watford. He managed the Hornets for a very long time of 10 years. During his time as Watford manager, his team finished fourth in the Football League Third Division South in consecutive seasons in 1937–38 and 1938–39, before the interruption of competitive football in England due to the Second World War. He was tactically a great manager, who kept the team’s status as one of the best in the Third tier. He had a win percentage of 43.86 %.

5. Aidy Boothroyd

Embed from Getty Images

Aidy Boothroyd served Watford FC for almost 3 years, from March 2005 to November 2008. During his time with the Hornets, he was in charge for 176 games, out of which his team won 65 with a win percentage of 36.9 %. Boothroyd revived a Watford side languishing at the bottom end of the Championship.

He led Watford to win Football League Championship play-offs, 2005–06. During his time with Watford, he was regarded as one of the best young managers in England. The fans were very skeptical at the time of his appointment but later on, his achievements on a shoestring budget were admired by the fans.

4. Slavisa Jokanovic

Embed from Getty Images

Serbian manager Slavisa Jokanovic has the best win percentage out of all the other managers who managed the club. He managed the club for a rather short interval of time. He was in charge for 36 games out of which his team won 21 games making it a win percentage of 58.33 %.

During his managerial tenure, Watford were promoted to the Premier League with one match to spare, sealing it with a 2–0 win at Brighton & Hove Albion. They almost won the league but an injury-time equalizer from Sheffield Wednesday made Bournemouth the champion.

Pages ( 1 of 2 ): 1 2Next »

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.