You are here
Home > Bundesliga > 10 Players With The Most Ballon d’Or Awards

10 Players With The Most Ballon d’Or Awards

players with the most Ballon d'Or awards

Ballon d’Or has been awarded every year since 1956 by France Football. Originally, only European players were in contention for the Ballon d’Or but in 1995 the award was expanded to include all players playing at European clubs and in 2007 players from all over the world became eligible for the award.

In the recent years Ballon d’Or has been dominated by Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo. However,some other players too dominated this award in their time and in this article we will have a look at 10 players with the most Ballon d’Or awards.

Here are the 10 players with the most Ballon d’Or awards –

Players With 2 Ballon d’Or awards

Karl-Heinz Rummenigge [1980,1981]

Karl-Heinz Rummenigge is a Bayern Munich legend ,where he spent 10 glorious years. It was his time with the Bavarians when he was voted twice as European Footballer of the Year(Ballon d’Or) . He was also a part of the West Germany national team that won the 1980 European Championship.

Kevin Keegan [1978,1979]

With two, Kevin Keegan holds the record for most Ballon d’Or awards by an Englishmen , a great achievement considering the quality of players that England have produced over the past 50 years.

Keegan spent most of his playing time at Liverpool but it was his time with Hamburger SV in Germany ,when he was voted European Footballer of the Year award for two consecutive years.

Alfredo Di Stéfano [1957,1959]

Alfredo Di Stéfano is regarded as one of the greatest footballers of all time and is best-known for his achievements with Real Madrid, where he was instrumental in the club’s domination of the European Champions’ Cup and La Liga during the 1950s.

He scored in the final of each of the five European Cups that Real Madrid won between 1956 and 1960. He was awarded the Ballon d’Or for the European Footballer of the Year in 1957 and 1959.

Ronaldo [1997,2002]

Brazilian striker Ronaldo is widely known as one of the greatest players of all time. During his career he played for many big clubs including Barcelona,Inter Milan,Real Madrid and Real Madrid.

Ronaldo won the FIFA World Player of the Year three times, in 1996, 1997 and 2002, and the Ballon d’Or twice, in 1997 and 2002, as well as the UEFA Club Footballer of the Year in 1998. He was part of Brazilian squad that won the World Cup in 1994 and 2002 as well as finishing runners-up in 1998.

Franz Beckenbauer [1972,1976]

Franz Beckenbauer is arguably the greatest defender in the history of football. Twice named European Footballer of the Year, Beckenbauer appeared 103 times for West Germany. He was the captain of the West Germany team that won the world cup in 1974 and European Championship in 1972.

On club level he had successful time with Bayern Munich,where he won the UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup in 1967 and three consecutive European Cups from 1974 to 1976.


A sports addict!

Leave a Reply